BLOODY POINT BAR RANGE LIGHTS
Just across the sound from the Harbour Town Lighthouse, you can get a glimpse of one of the Daufuskie Lights, known as the Haig Point Range Light. It was one of two range lights situated on Daufuskie Island that worked together like the Hilton Head Rear and Front Range Lights. The Haig Point Range Lights were built in 1872; the rear range light was a combination of a lighthouse built on the keeper’s cottage. The light atop the keeper’s cottage rose to a height of 25 feet and was powered by a fifth order Fresnel lens with kerosene lamps in the center of the lens. The front range light was set on a pole far out in the water that aligned with the rear range light to show mariners a safe passage through the channel. Later a second structure was built that could be moved to direct boats to the channel. The front range light had to be movable to adjust for the movement of the soft-bottomed shallows. The charming little cottage is now used for guest lodging and special functions by the Haig Point Development, an exclusive residential community built by International Paper Company.
Further to the east, around the other side of the island, a similar set of range lights were placed on what came to be called Bloody Point Bar in 1883. This ghoulish name grew out of what history recounts as being the site of a horrific Indian massacre. The massacre effectively signaled the end of the presence of the Yemassee Indians in this area. The cottage that was used as the rear range light has been pulled off of its original site and is no longer in use. Both of these range lights were deactivated in 1934. It is hard to imagine today how difficult the lighthouse keepers’ job must have been to row out in all manner of weather and keep the lamp lit on the poles located offshore.